Chinese Work Ethic Sunny Fong

Men's fashion carnage etcetera in all its naked glory…

Economic Shopping – Sunny’s (relatively) Cheap Picks for Spring 2009

So all everyone can talk about is “the economy.” Let’s blame everything on “the economy.” Let’s make bad financial decisions and use “the economy” as a scapegoat. Let’s not take responsibility for any of our own actions. “The economy” is the new global warming.

My dad recently lost (but thankfully gained back) a lot of money in the market. And yes, had the stock not plunged, he wouldn’t have lost all that money. But had he been smart about his money and not gambled on a company that he arbitrarily felt an allegiance to, he also wouldn’t have gotten him into that mess.

I went over a few few months ago and I caught my dad watching Law and Order of all things. I know he doesn’t have the patience for that kind of crap (I’m an SVU fan myself) so it was obvious that he was too immobilized to change the channel. I found my mother puttering around in the kitchen and inquired:

“So what’s wrong with Dad? He’s watching Criminal Intent (the worse L&O). Isn’t he supposedly to be watching some Girls Gone Wild DVD or some bad Chinese drama?”
“Your father is depressed.”
“I can see that! He’s on his side, a grown man lying there… Wrapped in… [I look toward the living room] Waitasecond, is that a table cloth on him?”

But now that’s back on his feet again financially, they’re taking some kind of luxury Chinese cruise next month and my parents recently went crazy at the William Ashley sale. I, however, being funemployed and still off from my job, is slowly running out of money. Hence, why I haven’t really made many clothing purchases over $40 in the last while. And of the clothes I did buy that were superfluous (so almost everything), I returned.

I also found myself looking more in the sale sections than I usually do. Normally, the clearance sections are the cherry on the sundae but now I don’t even bother looking at the new arrivals. And if I do, I get a little sad that I can’t feed my materialism monster. So I decided to put together an assortment of things I scoured around the net for that were not only stylish but incredibly affordable…

Marc by Marc Jacobs canvas duffel bag.

Pretty good for $84.99.

Sleek and gorgeous lambskin leather motorcross jacket. Made by Santos Leather from Montreal.

$280 CDN!
Burberry without the price tag!

Janette Beckman Boy tee in Pale Pink

On sale for $25.

J. Lindeberg striped crewneck sweater.

Great for those brisk spring nights. And only $69.

Cole Haan Forest Leather Boat Shoes

$110.99 from Bluefly.

I know this might not be for everyone but look how cool this looks on this kid:

It reminds me of something they could’ve used in a recent Vogues Hommes Japan.
$69.99 I Love America cotton jacket from Apple Eye Designs available on Etsy. Handmade in any size.

Last year’s Alexander McQueen for Puma high-tops.

$130.99

RVCA Kingsmen reversible jacket in athletic heather

On sale for $68.

And the cheapest buy of all, a good ol’ classic pair of tighty whities:

For $5, you can’t go wrong.

Shit, I just spilt my juice. I blame the economy!

Biter

I made up this term in grade school. No joke.

Barbara Kruger is the bomb but I totally made this up first.

She probably saw me colouring it into my Voltron book.

All I neeeeeeeeeeeed are earplugs!

This has nothing to do with fashion or style but it’s an old favourite of mine:

I don’t care if it might be fake.

Douche.

All you need is ‘Love’

I, too, was curious to see the new Love Magazine that everyone was talk-talk-talking about a few months ago.
Well, it’s out and I’ve been told that it’s completely sold out. Or maybe that’s just the result of the hype machine.

I saw some photos of Kate Moss by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott that were just exquisite. In the age of digital and extreme realism, I’m yearning for something different in terms of fashion photography. In a sea of crisp and clean, these photos are a breath of dark air.

I was also curious to see some new Terry Richardson stuff but I saw it and *shrug*… I rather see Angelica Houston on screen.

But what really caught my eye was this gorgeous photo of Iggy Pop by Bruce Weber (who hates us, remember?):

The depth-of-field and the range of midtones is signature Weber but I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a stark and sombre photo from this fucker. I think I want a print of this framed on my wall even though I’m not a huge Iggy Pop fan.

Anyway, I looked at some other photos from Love and there’s just too many women in it. Haha. I’m going to be honest. I read Vogue and maybe a little Toronto Fashion here and there at the dentist but I don’t really love women’s fashion as much as I love men’s fashion. Women’s fashion is inspiring but it’s all over the place and frankly, I don’t want to see boobs and cooch. Give me homoerotic fashion pictorials spearheaded by gay gay gaga gay fashion editors! Give me make photographers who abuse their power to make hot male models wear revealing things and touch each other. Give me a tingle in my crotch when I open a fashion magazine…

Give me Arena Homme Plus:

I bought this issue when I was still living at home with my parents. So why were they shocked when I came out to them? I mean, come on.

Fuck Love Magazine. Beth Ditto. Please.