All you need is ‘Love’

by sunnyfong

I, too, was curious to see the new Love Magazine that everyone was talk-talk-talking about a few months ago.
Well, it’s out and I’ve been told that it’s completely sold out. Or maybe that’s just the result of the hype machine.

I saw some photos of Kate Moss by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott that were just exquisite. In the age of digital and extreme realism, I’m yearning for something different in terms of fashion photography. In a sea of crisp and clean, these photos are a breath of dark air.

I was also curious to see some new Terry Richardson stuff but I saw it and *shrug*… I rather see Angelica Houston on screen.

But what really caught my eye was this gorgeous photo of Iggy Pop by Bruce Weber (who hates us, remember?):

The depth-of-field and the range of midtones is signature Weber but I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a stark and sombre photo from this fucker. I think I want a print of this framed on my wall even though I’m not a huge Iggy Pop fan.

Anyway, I looked at some other photos from Love and there’s just too many women in it. Haha. I’m going to be honest. I read Vogue and maybe a little Toronto Fashion here and there at the dentist but I don’t really love women’s fashion as much as I love men’s fashion. Women’s fashion is inspiring but it’s all over the place and frankly, I don’t want to see boobs and cooch. Give me homoerotic fashion pictorials spearheaded by gay gay gaga gay fashion editors! Give me make photographers who abuse their power to make hot male models wear revealing things and touch each other. Give me a tingle in my crotch when I open a fashion magazine…

Give me Arena Homme Plus:

I bought this issue when I was still living at home with my parents. So why were they shocked when I came out to them? I mean, come on.

Fuck Love Magazine. Beth Ditto. Please.

