Burberry Fall Winter Collection 2012/2013

by sunnyfong


I’ll have to admit, Burberry’s Fall 2012 Collection kinda looks like how I started dressing a few years back: a little dandy, a little cheesy, a little bit Newsies. I’m kinda glad Burberry never succumbs to prevalent trends by regurgitating American heritage or nautical. A plaid shirt is a plaid shirt is a toggle sweater is a toggle sweater sometimes. But Christopher Bailey takes what looked of-the-moment maybe even just a few years ago and reinterprets it again to make it look current. It’s a certain confidence in the design that allows big brands like Burberry to get away with updating perpetual classics without straying too far from what’s hot.


The pants are a little euro-trash and the shoes are pointier than what’s going on right now but there’s a self-assured way of dressing that Burberry brings to their customer no matter what it is. The obvious violations are the “2 sizes too short” outerwear and the pedestrian silhouettes.

Nothing too avant-garde and nothing outwardly fashion-forward. But the difference is in the surprising details.

The insane pops of colour and combinations that are completely unique to what’s happening now. Dare I say there’s a fabulous drabness to those mustard lines and accessories (a key colour this year for menswear) and in combination with the wine, a fresh new palette is born. Retro peanut butter and jelly I want to say but futuristic at the same time. Some might say that Burberry might be having an identity crisis (phasing in and out of rock and roll, luxury, sportswear and slightly resort-ish garb) but at least it’s always very me.

I am the perfect Burberry customer: Asian, wishy-washy, obsessive about luxury, interested in details, rock and roll sensibilities, likes to play with people’s perceptions and experimental without being too gaudy. Call me a fuddy duddy but my tastes border on outdated sometimes. Burberry gives me goosebumps though!

WHAT.

