Happy 2011!

by sunnyfong

Well, it looks like I got let go at my job for no reason (or reasons that I feel are unfounded). And just before Christmas too, those pooheads. I think they thought I was disorganized or something but little do they know that I was pretty organized. I’m a really anal person when it comes to my own documents and program structures. I was also supportive of all my staff, incredibly engaged with the children and just started to make some really strong connections with the new parents. Everything was going really well. For the lack of volunteers, resources and staff (went from 3 to 1), everything was running like clockwork. And we definitely had a routine down so that we can step it up with the engagement level. I’m a little sad that my managers never once came down and observed the programs. There was magic happening. It’s super unfortunate and I’m trying to avoid conflict these days so I left pretty defeated and quietly.

The parents found out and asked if they could write a petition.

My colleagues are trying to convince me to fight the decision but I think I’m going to move on. I am confident in my opinion that they lost a very dedicated employee who was willing to do major things for the organization had they provided that type of atmosphere. I was doing the job of 3 people and am surprised they expected more for the pay I was getting. No union, no benefits and apparently making 25K less than another Coordinator. I left a full-time salary gig to be here and was planning to stay for a while. We were doing really great work with the community and I had plans to do even better in 2011. I was looking forward to a fresh start at work. But now I’m at home job hunting and looking at fashion sites.

Wherever life takes me, I am thankful for the opportunities that have been given and should be proud of my accomplishments. Why dwell? I’m trying really hard not to. I’m not a fan of resolutions but because this landed right in January, I guess it makes sense to relate it to the new year. 2011 will be a year of exercise, cultural consumption (when was the last time I read a non-leadership related book) and more posts on Chinese Work Ethic.

Someone said something really cool to me the other day when I was worrying about what direction this blog was taking… He said “It’s your blog. Write whatever the fuck you want.” Here here!

Happy new year everyone! May our 2011 be filled with men’s style, fashion carnage, internet shitheads and the carnivalesque!

I miss you, kiddies. I hope life is good to you this year.

