GQ Editors’ “barf in my own mouth” picks for Spring 2011

by sunnyfong


Carthart jacket by Robert Geller

So as you’ve noticed, I’ve been shitting on the New York Spring 2011 collections here and there and the rage continues in this post. I recently checked out picks by GQ’s fashion editors for Spring 2011 and again, either I don’t understand a thing about fashion forecasting or my tastes are just not as current as they used to be. I don’t feel American menswear is going in an attractive direction. Each season, I look forward to new colours, cuts and ideas. And any fashionister with a discerning eye can pick and choose pieces to inspire their own wardrobe. I just feel like I’m not completely onboard with next year’s proposed trends. In menswear (and especially in womenswear), it’s common for a brand to create looks that transcend what can actually be worn on the street. In everyday life, men aren’t wearing giant fur-lined epaulettes or 18-hole combat boots unless you’re Brandon Flowers. But the fantasy of each season’s aesthetics inspire the consumer to choose a certain cut, a specific detail or a newly developed colour. That’s how most trends are formed: starts at the top and depending on the speed of culture in a certain city, it trickles eventually to the massive retail markets, often taking years for it to hit the mainstream. There’s a certain hierarchical movement with clothes that isn’t always obvious to the Saturday afternoon mall dweller.

The next season seems to be a plethora of more plaid, stripes, woodsmen gear and lazy househusbands who work from home. I thought the pendulum was going to swing back to subtle glamour and even a bit of utilitarian fetish (military, sleek leathers, more tailoring) for 2011. Europe seems to be going that way again: less frayed edges, knits, pure hues, more polished looks with a hint of Euro nerdiness. New York fashion week seemed a little too costume-y for my tastes. I liked certain pieces here and there but the overall feel of the clothes leaves me wanting to flee for Milan. Plaid’s here, it’s queer and we have to get used to it.

Here are some of GQ’s ghastly picks for menswear Spring 2011:

I don’t even understand what this is. I appreciate the colour combination but it just looks uninspired and awkward. Robert Geller is super talented but this falls flat.


The Hawaiian shirt should never make any appearances on a runway. I’ve seen it in a few other editorials and it’s one of those “must haves” that go right over people’s heads. I don’t even think this Gilded Age look would even work on an actual Hawaiian beach. I don’t even want to know how much this is priced at. Frat guys spreading crabs in Cancun don’t deserve any more validation.


Did Marc Jacobs’ creative team shop for inspiration at Old Navy? I get the bag and the shoes. Even the pants and belt are cute. But man, that shirt is something my uncle’s wife would buy me for Christmas. Sometimes I think designers should be forced to wear their own clothes for a week.


I think the GQ editor said that he really liked the addition of the bandanna to this Michael Bastian outfit. Okay… The shoes are horrendous (what is he, coming home from 3-on-3 basketball?), the shorts don’t match and the tangerine jumper makes me want to eat a Creamsicle.


My philosophy is that if it doesn’t even look good on a professional model, it will probably never look good on you.

More to come…

