CWE’s Picks of Picks

by sunnyfong

I was perusing an article about top picks from fancy shmancy stores such as Bergdorf’s and Neiman’s. I thought I’d weed through it and share my top picks of the top picks. I would even go as far as saying that a lot of this stuff can be utilized right through the spring months.


I thought these muted linen pocket squares by Paul Smith (I think) are gorgeous. They’re just so subtle. the problem with pocket squares is that most guys, especially finance dudes, choose ones that look more like a magician’s hankerchief than a sartorial accent. These three are perfect for any grey suit. Not blowing my nose on these, I’ll tell you that.


I recently found this kind of shirt at Zellers for about $10 but since I’ve been scolded by many friends to stop buying sweatpants, I put it back. Now that I look at this John Varvatos crewneck sweatshirt, I’m regretting my decision. And I’m not paying $300 for a sweatshirt. I was predicting the comeback of the crewneck last year (perfect under a vintage denim jacket on a nice spring day) so I think I’m gonna make a return trip to Zellers today.


This Jack Spade weekender makes me want to go to New York for a weekend to buy this weekender but then I’d need a weekender to take with me on the weekend to buy this weekender… Booking plane tickets for April 22!


I’ve been noticing more guys on the train wearing Timberland shoes and I’ll have to say, with the right outfit, they look pretty fucking cool. I especially like these basic winter boots in a rounded toe. It actually looks classic.


I predicted the chambray a few years back. And I think it’s going to be the new skinny jean this year. I like this one though. I have a chambray from highschool that I absolutely love and it’s worn to shit. So I think I might get myself a new one that’s rough looking but still dark in colour.


This has always been my dream scarf. I already have a couple of Burberry scarves so it’s not like I absolutely need one. But if I could have one fashion item from the retail genie right now, I’d ask for this. I was at a friend’s wine cellar last weekend and Rob walked in sporting this. His wife told me it was a gift and I said “whoa, she’s a keeper.” And I’m very sad that no one told me that a Burberry store opened up in Toronto. Very sad.

Alright, I can’t afford anything right now so I’m puttin’ on my coat to go to Zellers. Wish me luck.

