Michael Stipe for Maison Martin Margiela

by sunnyfong


I’ve always been a mild REM fan and enjoyed watching Michael Stipe’s journey into hipsterdom. From the early days of Vexed Generation ninja hoodies to the Courtney Love-inspired songs, Stipe has always made interesting choices. It’s not easy being a quirky guy living in the limelight. For the past 10 years, he has become somewhat of an art world darling. He has made enough mainstream hits to be one of the most beloved frontmen in music history but has also stayed under the celebrity radar enough to still respected by the fringe community. He’s one of few artists who can play stadiums but still hang with the cool kids.

And when you have an in with the art scene, the next logical step is the fashion world.

Not only did he star in Juergen Teller’s Marc Jacobs campaign, Stipe makes his rounds during Fashion Week each year.

In 2008, Stipe exhibited a few bronze sculptures in New York and it seems his metal work isn’t just for the galleries. In collaboration with Belgian label Maison Martin Margiela, Stipe has created a limited edition accessory to be sold at select stores. His design features a mini cassette with the unraveled tape as a chain. Only 199 pieces are available so all you Michael Stipe fans better move quick.

Don’t know about you but I’m not rushing out to Nordstrom’s to pick this up any time soon. I don’t even know what I think of it. I guess I don’t feel much. Blah.

What’s going on Michael Stipe? I think you can do better than this.

Okay, because I love REM so much, here are a few of my favourite clips:


My favourite REM song ever.


One of my favourite songs from the new album. Video By Vincent Moon.


Acoustic version.


And of course, me VERY drunk with my friend Adam at an REM/The National concert. This was right after I dropped a pizza slice out of my pocket without knowing (no joke).

God, I miss summer.

